Greg Kuny Memorial Labour Service Officer of the Year

Greg Kuny was a Conservation Officer who lost his life on August 1st, 1994, after a long battle with cancer. At the time of his passing Greg was on definite leave from the department at a posting at Geikie River in the Wollaston Lake district. Greg exemplified the dedication and professionalism of the Conservation Officer in Saskatchewan.

View Greg’s Tribute and others on our Officer Tributes page.


  • Awarded to a Labour Service Conservation Officer
  • Both the nominating officer and the nominee must be members of SACO in good standing
  • Nominee must have demonstrated a genuine desire to protect Saskatchewan’s resources and develop professionally
  • Exceptional ability, initiative and dedication in the performance of their duties, including public education, must have been shown by the nominee
  • The nominee must be respected by their peers and the public
  • The nominee should not have worked as a Conservation Officer more than 5 years based on seniority earned at the Conservation Officer level. Awards Chairperson will have final decision on overruling this point if needed
  • The recipient of this award shall be considered as the Saskatchewan nomination for the North American Wildlife Enforcement Officers Torch Award

To submit a nomination or for more information contact the Awards Chairperson.


2019 – David Hornjak

2018 – Steven Asselstine

2017 – Colton Perkins

2016 – Jared Bonneau

2015 – Nolan Hogarth

2014 – Justin Knackstedt

2013 – Cory Loitz

2012 – Jaret Engele

2011 – Brock Lockart

2010 – James Mcleod

2009 – Carrie Grimard

2008 – Shawn Riabko

2007 – Mario Gaudet

2006 – Grant Duncan

2005 – Brad Johns

2004 – Robbie Fines

2003 – Micheal Paschke

2002 – Deirdre Todd

2001 – Chris Clarke

2000 – Ty Claypool

1999 – Colin Lawson, Ashley Brown