The SACO Special Recognition Award

 is given out annually to an individual(s) or organization that has made a significant contribution to the protection of our natural resources, as well as promoting the professional image of Conservation Officers in Saskatchewan.



  • Call for nominations go out in early January.
  • Nominations are accepted from Conservation Officers who are members of SACO in good standing.
  • No limit to the number of nominations in this category.
  • Nominating officer must describe in detail why the person or organization is being nominated. This would include job related duties, but highlight the way that the nominee assists Conservation Officers.
  • Recipient will be invited to the annual SACO Convention and given 2 free tickets. No other costs will be provided.


  • Years of work and how the nominee is able to assist the Conservation Officer.
  • How the nominee has helped SACO.
  • Recognition for good work which promotes the role of a CO and what significant contribution the nominee has made.

To submit a nomination or for more information contact the Awards Chairperson.

Past Recipients

2024- Saskatoon Forestry Park Farm and Zoo

2023- Alex Blais-Montpetit- Aquatic Habitat Protection Specialist

2022- Jeanette Pepper, Michelle Heggstrom, Streamline Contracting Ltd.

2021- Calvin Whitedeer, Inside Outside studios Inc.

2020- Senior Crown Prosecutor Matthew Miazga, Provincial Emergency Communications Center IT Division, Conservation Officer Service Instructor Team

2019 – Lake Lenore Meats and Koenders Mfg, RCMP Underwater Recovery Team

2018 – Dave Halstead and Leila Benmerrouche

2017 – Jamie Gibson, Andrea Busse, Stacy Lloyd, Andrea Minter

2016 – Marnie Zimmer, Trent Bollinger, Mark Duffy, Barry Noweselsky

2015 – Tim Loran

2014 – N/A

2013 – Quill Lake Co-Op, Saskatoon Office, Cyndi Dyck, Buffalo Narrows RCMP

2012 – Tanya Riabko, Paul Deneer

2011 – Bill Lozinski, Jamie Paschke

2010 – It’s A Zoo

2009 – Dwayne Douglas, Otto Olson, Dianne Doerr



2008 – N/A

2007 – Glen Herman, Steve Kritzer

2006 – Merv Swanson, Cathi Beckel

2005 – Saskatchewan Wildlife Federation

2004 – Mike Flodell, Robin VanKoughnett, Bruce Wield, Streamline, Colin McConnell

2003 – Doug Lucyshyn, Dave Silversides, Nick Crane

2002 – Mitch McAdam, Barry Stricker, Eric Braaten, Dave Heidel, Tim Theile (Ducks Unlimited), Trever Plews (Ducks Unlimited), Rick Wyatt (S.A.F.E.), Carrie Senger

2001 – George Lacert, Chuck Lees, Robin Hilts, Kerry Wisser

2000 – Cst. Gord Pope (Saskatoon Police Service)

1999 – Echo Charlie, Dr. Gary Wobeser, Rick Ashton

1998 – N/A

1997 – N/A

1996 – N/A

1995 – N/A

1994 – N/A

1993 – RCMP Forensics

1992 – Barrie Stricker

1991 – Randy Kirkham

1990 – Padraig Tunney, Ross MacLennan

1989 – Rick Krehbiel, Rose Nemeth

1988 – John Edwards, Les Oystryk, Dan McGill, Kevin Cowan