Kevin Misfeldt

On January 24th, 1997, a very tragic event happened within the Department of Environment and Resource Management. While conducting a Whitetail deer survey near Marsden, Saskatchewan, a single engine Cessna plane crashed and killed pilot Breton Thomas, Wildlife Biologist Wally Kost and Conservation Officer Kevin Misfeldt.

The annual Kevin Misfeldt Memorial Elk Award was established to honour Kevin and his outstanding work. This award is open to all department staff.


Special thanks to Mr. John Mulhern for graciously donating the trophy.

To view Kevin’s full Tribute visit our Officer Tributes page.

Past Recipients

2024- Chris Maier


2022- Brendon Smith

2021- Cody Osbourne

2020- N/A

2019-  N/A

2018-  N/A

2017 – N/A

2016 – N/A

2015 – N/A

2014 – N/A

2013 – N/A

2012 – N/A

2011 – Cam Lueken

2010 – Kevin Schoepp

2009 – Steve Dobko

2008 – N/A

2007 – Glen Kurjata

2006 – N/A

2005 – N/A

2004 – Kelly Kovar

2003 – Kelly Kovar

2002 – N/A

2001 – Cam Lueken

2000 – Barry Rogers

1999 – Dwayne Douglas

1998 – Mike Krysanowski

1997 – Dwayne Douglas

How to apply

  • Send your application to the Awards Chairperson. Applications must be received by January.
  • Applicants must submit a score sheet completed by a trained Henry Kelsey Scorer. The score sheet must include the hunting licence number and a photograph of the antlers.
  • All animals must be harvested in Saskatchewan under the authority of a valid Saskatchewan Resident Hunting Licence.
  • Applicants must list the method used to harvest the elk (e.g. rifle, muzzleloader, archery). Entries will be evaluated based on method used and score of antlers based on a minimum record book requirement for particular method. Contact the Awards Chairperson for more details.
  • There is no fee to enter.